The Origins of Contemporary Experimental Indie? : The Pygmies of the Ituri Forest

Who? The Pygmies of Ituri Forest

What? Original recordings from the fifties from a pigmy tribe in Congo

Sounds like? Acoustic Demos of Animal Collective

THe Pygmies of Ituri Forest is an amazing band name, but unfortunately this post is about the real pygmies. A few days ago I found this great blog that share complete albums with crazy or eccentric music. I was really wondering how Pygmies sound and guess what? They sound like Indie music!

This morning in the bus to work I listened to it, and all I could think was: “this is just like that experimental stuff that Animal Collective does. ” Probably most of you will disagree, but well, you should have to listen to it for yourself. Out of respect for this guy’s blog, I’ll just post the link to his site, cause he earns all the credit for it… Great Find

(I dno’t know if the album is still for sale and where it can be found…

http://closetcurios2.blogspot.com/2008/09/pygmies-of-ituri-forest.html

PS: I’m a bit sick, so that’s why this post is not that long. I’ll have my bookworm wednesday (why did I call it that?) somewhere this weekend.

Explore posts in the same categories: folk

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

