Let’s Get on Your Nerves: Grampall Jookabox

Who? Grampall Jookabox

What? Detuned Folk with a beat, weird voices and a big “I don’t get it, but it’s good”-feeling

Sounds Like: Captain Beefhearts grandchildren, but folkier

I’m tired and not really in the mood to write anything, but I do wanna keep this blog up and going (busy times prevent me to do daily updates). So, this is gonna be a short one.

Grampall Jookabox is a band most people will probably just get extremely irritated by. As a matter of fact, my father just entered my room and said: “god this is awful!”. ¬†They make a sort of folk with weird little noises, funny voices and most of it kind of repetitive. I call it folk, but actually it really is something undefinable. I’m not writing about this, because i like promoting weird music, but because i think it’s really good.

They have released a free to download EP just a month or so ago on one of the bigger indie labels, Asthmatic Kitty. Last year they had their debut album ‘Scientific Cricket’, which intrigued me. And in just a few weeks, they’ll release their second full length on Asthmatic Kitty, called ‘Ropechain’.

I’ll just post links to the free songs, cause of my laziness. ¬†‘Bad Wis My ‘Slopder’ is a really funny song, and very characteristic for the What the hell feeling i was telling about.. it’s like a sort of muppet show voice trippin’ really badly. The Other song is a sort of lesson in singalong nonsense, and the band laughing because one of them can’t sing along…you’ll just have to listen I think.

Grampall Jookabox – ‘Bad Wis My Slopder’

Grampall Jookabox – The Steamboat Gothic stomp

You can download the entire EP here, and i recommend you doing so !

Explore posts in the same categories: Indie

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

